Qu'est-ce que l'analyse technique?
L'analyse technique tente de prévoir les mouvements de prix futurs en examinant les données de marché passées.

La plupart des commerçants utilisent l'analyse technique pour obtenir une «vue d'ensemble» sur l'historique des prix d'un investissement. Même les traders fondamentaux vont jeter un coup d'œil sur un graphique pour voir s'ils achètent à un prix juste, en vendant à un sommet cyclique ou en entrant dans un marché instable.

La plupart des analystes techniques font quelques hypothèses clés:

Tous les fondamentaux du marché sont reflétés dans les données de prix. Les humeurs, les opinions divergentes et les autres fondamentaux du marché n'ont pas besoin d'être étudiés.

L'histoire peut se répéter, souvent de manière régulière et prévisible. Ces modèles, générés par les mouvements de prix, sont appelés signaux. L'objectif d'un analyste technique est de découvrir les signaux d'un marché actuel en examinant les signaux passés du marché.

Les prix évoluent dans les tendances. Les analystes techniques estiment que les fluctuations de prix ne sont pas aléatoires et imprévisibles. Une fois qu'une tendance ascendante, descendante ou latérale a été établie, elle continuera habituellement pendant une période.

Entrez et sortez - au bon moment

Les commerçants se fondent sur des tableaux de prix, des graphiques de volume et d'autres représentations mathématiques de données de marché (appelées études) pour trouver les points d'entrée et de sortie idéaux pour un échange. Certaines études aident à identifier une tendance, tandis que d'autres aident à déterminer la force et la durabilité de cette tendance au fil du temps.

L'analyse technique peut ajouter de la discipline et minimiser l'émotion dans votre plan de trading. Il peut être difficile de filtrer les impressions fondamentales et de rester fidèle à vos points d'entrée et de sortie comme prévu. Bien qu'aucun système ne soit parfait, l'analyse technique vous aide à voir votre plan de trading plus objectivement et sans passion.

Types de graphiques de prix

Diagramme à barres

Le type le plus commun de graphique montrant l'action des prix. Chaque barre représente une période de temps - une «période» aussi courte que 1 minute ou aussi longue que plusieurs années. Au fil du temps, les graphiques à barres peuvent montrer des modèles de prix distincts.

Chandeliers

Au lieu d'une simple barre, chaque chandelier montre le prix élevé, bas, d'ouverture et de clôture pour cette période de temps qu'il représente. Les motifs en chandeliers fournissent de plus amples détails visuels au fur et à mesure qu'ils se développent.

Graphiques ponctuels et figuratifs

Les modèles de point et de figure ressemblent à des diagrammes à barres, sauf que X et Os sont utilisés pour marquer les changements de direction des prix. Les tableaux de points et de figures n'utilisent pas l'échelle de temps pour associer un certain jour à une certaine action de prix.

Types d'indicateurs techniques

Tendance

Les indicateurs de tendance lissent les données sur les prix, de sorte qu'une tendance persistante vers le haut, vers le bas ou latéralement peut être facilement observée. (Exemples: moyennes mobiles, lignes de tendance)

Force

Les indicateurs de résistance décrivent l'intensité de l'opinion du marché sur un certain prix en examinant les positions sur le marché prises par les différents acteurs du marché. Le volume ou l'intérêt ouvert sont les ingrédients de base des indicateurs de force.

Volatilité

La «volatilité» désigne l'ampleur des fluctuations de prix au jour le jour, quelle que soit leur tendance directionnelle. Les changements de volatilité ont tendance à anticiper les changements de prix. (Exemple: Bandes de Bollinger)

Cycle

Les indicateurs de cycle indiquent la répétition des tendances du marché à partir d'événements récurrents tels que les saisons ou les élections. Les indicateurs de cycle déterminent le moment d'un modèle de marché particulier. (Exemple: Elliott Wave)

Soutien / Résistance

Le soutien et la résistance décrivent les niveaux de prix où les marchés montent ou descendent à plusieurs reprises pour ensuite s'inverser. Ce phénomène est attribué à l'offre et à la demande de base. (Exemple: Lignes de tendance)

Élan

Les indicateurs Momentum déterminent la force ou la faiblesse d'une tendance à mesure qu'elle progresse avec le temps. L'élan est le plus haut quand une tendance commence et le plus bas quand la tendance change.

Quand le prix et l'élan divergent, cela suggère une faiblesse. Si les extrêmes de prix se produisent avec un faible moment, il signale une fin de mouvement dans cette direction. Si la dynamique est forte et que les prix sont stables, cela indique un changement potentiel dans la direction des prix. (Exemple: stochastique, MACD, RSI)

Utilisation d'indicateurs
Utiliser des indicateurs pour identifier les tendances

Vous avez probablement entendu l'expression "la tendance est votre ami" - mais qu'est-ce que cela signifie? Si votre tendance subit un contrecoup soudain et que votre stop suiveur s'active à perte, il est naturel de se demander: comment être sûr que la prochaine tendance sera plus amicale?

Confirmez que la tendance est réelle

L'utilisation combinée d'indicateurs techniques peut aider à garantir une tendance potentielle à la hausse - une bonne habitude pour toutes sortes de transactions techniques, mais surtout pour le Forex. Les devises ont tendance à évoluer naturellement en raison des facteurs macroéconomiques à long terme et des flux de capitaux internationaux à court terme. Tout cela rend encore plus difficile de voir une tendance commerciale durable.

Lignes de tendance

Du point de vue d'un trader, une tendance est une réaction prévisible des prix à des niveaux de soutien ou de résistance qui changent avec le temps. Les lignes de tendance marquent ces niveaux, avec le soutien agissant comme le «plancher» et la résistance comme le «plafond». Lorsque les prix franchissent l'un ou l'autre de ces niveaux, cela indique une tendance à la poursuite de ce mouvement.

Il est facile de dessiner des lignes de tendance parfaites sur les graphiques historiques - mais plus difficile d'avoir raison quand le tren

What is Technical Analysis?

Technical analysis attempts to forecast future price movements by examining past market data.

Most traders use technical analysis to get a "big picture" on an investment's price history. Even fundamental traders will glance at a chart to see if they're buying at a fair price, selling at a cyclical top or entering a choppy, sideways market.

Most technical analysts make a few key assumptions:

All market fundamentals are reflected in price data. Moods, differing opinions, and other market fundamentals need not be studied.

History can repeat itself, often in regular, fairly predictable patterns. These patterns, generated by price movements, are called signals. A technical analyst's goal is to uncover a current market's signals by examining past market signals.

Prices move in trends. Technical analysts believe price fluctuations are not random and unpredictable. Once an up, down or sideways trend has been established, it usually will continue for a period.

Get in and get out - at the right time

Traders rely on price charts, volume charts and other mathematical representations of market data (called studies) to find the ideal entry and exit points for a trade. Some studies help identify a trend, while others help determine the strength and sustainability of that trend over time.

Technical analysis can add discipline and minimize emotion in your trading plan. It can be hard to screen out fundamental impressions and stick with your entry and exit points as planned. While no system is perfect, technical analysis helps you see your trading plan more objectively and dispassionately.

Price chart types

Bar charts

The most common type of chart showing price action. Each bar represents a period of time - a "period" as short as 1 minute or as long as several years. Over time, bar charts can show distinct price patterns.

Candlestick Charts

Instead of a simple bar, each candlestick shows the high, low, opening and closing price for that period of time it represents. Candlestick patterns provide greater visual detail as they develop.

Point & Figure Charts

Point & figure patterns resemble bar chart patterns, except Xs and Os are used to mark changes in price direction. Point & figure charts make no use of time scale to associate a certain day with a certain price action.

Technical Indicator Types

Trend

Trend indicators smooth price data out, so that a persistent up, down or sideways trend can be easily seen. (Examples: moving averages, trend lines)

Strength

Strength indicators describe the intensity of market opinion on a certain price by examining the market positions taken by various market participants. Volume or open interest are the basic ingredients of strength indicators.

Volatility

"Volatility" refers to the magnitude of day-to-day price fluctuations, whatever their directional trend. Changes in volatility tend to anticipate changes in prices. (Example: Bollinger Bands)

Cycle

Cycle indicators indicate repeating market patterns from recurrent events such as seasons or elections. Cycle indicators determine the timing of a particular market pattern. (Example: Elliott Wave)

Support/Resistance

Support and resistance describe the price levels where markets repeatedly rise or fall and then reverse. This phenomenon is attributed to basic supply and demand. (Example: Trend Lines)

Momentum

Momentum indicators determine the strength or weakness of a trend as it progresses over time. Momentum is highest when a trend starts and lowest when the trend changes.

When price and momentum diverge, it suggests weakness. If price extremes occur with weak momentum, it signals an end of movement in that direction. If momentum is trending strongly and prices are flat, it signals a potential change in price direction. (Example: Stochastic, MACD, RSI)

Using Indicators

Using Indicators to Identify Trends

You've probably heard the expression "the trend is your friend" - but what does it mean? If your trend takes a sudden counter-move and your trailing stop activates at a loss, it's natural to ask yourself: how can you be sure the next trend will be more friendly?

Confirm the trend is real

Using technical indicators in combination can help ensure a potential trend has staying power - a good habit for all kinds of technical trading, but especially in forex. Currencies tend to move in trends naturally due to long-term macroeconomic factors and short-term international capital flows. All of this makes it that much harder to see a trade-able trend that will last.

Trendlines

From a trader's perspective, a trend is a predictable price response at levels of support or resistance that change over time. Trendlines mark these levels, with support acting as the "floor" and resistance as the "ceiling". When prices break through either of these levels, that signals a trend for that movement to continue.

It's easy to draw perfect trendlines on historical charts - but harder to be right when the trend is still developing. Still trendlines help focus your attention on finding support and resistance levels, the first step to identifying a new trend.

Start by drawing trendlines over longer timeframes (daily or weekly charts) and then carry them forward into shorter timeframes (hourly or 4-hourly). That way you'll highlight the most important support and resistance levels first and not lose the major trend development by chasing a short-term, minor one.

Directional Movement Indicator (DMI)

Developed by J. Welles Wilder, the DMI minimizes the guesswork in spotting trends and helps confirm trendline analysis.

The DMI system has two parts:

  • ADX (average directional movement index). If the ADX reading is above 20, that indicates a "real" or sustainable trend. The ADX also measures the trend's strength: the higher the ADX, the stronger the trend.
  • The ADX also provides an early indicator of a trend's end. When it drops from its highest level, it may be time to exit the position and wait for a fresh signal from the the DI+/DI-.
  • DI+ and DI- lines. When DI+ crosses up through DI-, that's considered a buy sign. When the opposite happens, that's usually a sell sign.

Wilder recommends following the "extreme point rule" to confirm the signals. Note the extreme point for that period in the direction of the crossover (the high if DI+ crosses up over DI-; the low if DI- crosses up over DI+). Only if that extreme point is breached in the subsequent period is a trade signal confirmed.

Many traders use the parabolic indicator along with the ADX to identify a trend's end. The parabolic indicator follows the price action but accelerates its own rate of increase over time and in response to the trend. The parabolic continually closes in on the price, and only a steadily accelerating price rise (the essence of a trend) will prevent the price from falling below the parabolic, signaling an end to the trend.

Trading short-term

The methods above can be used for short-term decision making, even in markets that are trading sideways - a "trendless" market.

However, if you're trading short-term, don't ignore the big picture entirely. There's no point in trying to ride a short-term trend that is counter to the larger trend.